Miss Letting-Go-Getting


Welcome!
March 28, 2007, 5:53 pm
Filed under: Books

As a Library and Information Science graduate student, I am learning about hundreds of amazing books and resources. So, I finally decided to dive into the blogosphere to pass some of it along to you, my fabulous friends.

You might not be interested in the Dewey Decimal System, MARC records and OPACs, but you just might be intrigued by some cool and useful websites. Or how about developing some mad search engine skills? We’re living in a world of information overload–and I would love nothing more than to be your navigator!

Tip of the Week:
Did you know, many libraries including The Chicago Public Library allow you to download audio books for free? Going on a trip? Need something to listen to while you stand on a crowded subway for an hour? Why spend $20+ on ITunes, when you can check out an audio book from the library for a couple of weeks? Here’s a link to the CPL site (unfortunately, you need to live in Chicago to check things out):

http://overdrive.chipublib.org/44D95E14-8BAC-447E-BF5C-131A62238746/10/212/en/Default.htm

Challenge of the Week:
Get a library card! If you are my friend, and you don’t have one yet–DO IT. It’s easy and FREE and I’ll buy you a DRINK with proof (Offer valid only in Chicago for a limited time–act quickly)!

Book of the Week:

Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky

This book is beyond words beautiful and was my favorite of the past year. Written during the German occupation of France and discovered and published recently, this fictional account of life during World War II is not to be missed!

Don’t just take my word for it…check out all of the praise from one of my favorite websites:

http://www.metacritic.com/books/authors/nemirovskyirene/suitefrancaise?q=Suite%20Francaise

More soon!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hello,
I’m not sure upon which topic I’m commenting; overall that is pretty irrelevant. What I am interested in is how someone who graduated from college a long time ago (early 90s)get into the MLIS programs? My GRE scores are long expired, I was told that volunteering was important; unfortunately here on Oahu the ‘volunteering’ positions are actually community service positions for teens who have gotten into trouble. If you have a free moment and any advice, I would love to hear from you at my site. Thank you for your time, Sarah

Comment by sarah anne




Leave a Reply

