Miss Letting-Go-Getting


My Mother, My Weather Forecast
May 10, 2008, 5:42 pm
Filed under: Life, Videos | Tags:

“Whatever else is unsure in this stinking dunghill of a world a mother’s love is not.” – James Joyce

I heart my wonderful mother and owe many many things to her- especially my love of theatre and art, books and writing, libraries and learning. I can’t ever thank her enough for giving me these wonderful gifts–which bring me so much joy, every single day. Also I thank her for a great appreciation for casseroles and shoes.

One of the best quirks of my mother is her unrelenting obsession with the weather. She has stated many times that she wishes she had been a meteorologist and has even christened herself “weather-mom.” Weather mom calls regularly with warnings about precipitation that may or may not be happening way, way, way in the future.

Example phone message…

“Hi, it’s weather mom, just wanted to tell you to keep an eye on the weather for your drive home in two weeks, they’re predicting two inches of snow along I-80.”

One week later…

“It’s weather mom again. I’m a little concerned. I’ve been watching the weather channel all day and now they’re talking about 2.5 inches next weekend. I think you’d better prepare yourself not to come home.”

I’ll take “weather mom” any day especially over the following:

For more mother’s day fun sure to make you appreciate your mumsy in all of her glory, with all of her quirks check out:

  • Postcardsfromyomomma submissions of funny and strange electronic correspondances between mother and child.
  • For a list of the best and worst mothers ever check out TIME’s piece.

Do something nice for your mom and always remember it could be much, much worse.

XXXOOO

Miss LGG

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Watch out Jen – severe thunderstorms headed your way!!!!
Love,
anonymous

Comment by theshiftingcenter




Leave a Reply

