Miss Letting-Go-Getting


Miss LGG’s Summer Reading Program
May 19, 2008, 12:36 am
Filed under: Books, Web Resources | Tags:

Remember this…

Once upon a time, long, long ago I loved a man who rarely cracked a book open, well actually never cracked a book open. Fortunately, he was extremely skilled at cracking me up. In fact, I don’t think I stopped laughing until the very, very end of us, which made it easy to overlook this normally unforgivable deal breaker. I felt that maybe all he needed to get into reading was some good old motivation, so I started a “Book It” program just for him, in which if he read a certain number of books (they had to be at least 100 pages–no Choose Your Own Adventure allowed) he would get something a little more exciting than a personal pan pizza. I think he read four books–which was a monumental accomplishment for him, but certainly not prize worthy. Anyway, I’ve never needed motivation to read, but I do fondly remember the library summer reading programs of yore and I do feel a need to read with more purpose these days…so I’ve designed my own summer reading program.

The goal is:

  • Two books a week, eight books a month, 24 total.
  • 6  literary fiction, 6 non-fiction of any style, 6 genre fiction or Young Adult (sci-fi, romance, mystery, thriller), 6 classic

Here is my reading list compiled on the awesome book-sharing site Shelfari:

I haven’t decided what I will reward myself with if I complete the list…perhaps a stay at the Sylvia Beach Hotel, a hotel for book-lovers in beautiful Newport Oregon…

What are your reading goals for the summer?

XXXOOO

Miss LGG

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Get through this goddamned Mason and Dixon.

Actually, it’s enjoyable. But hard.

Comment by DOB

I thought about putting Mason & Dixon on my list, but realized it would take up the entire summer and I still wouldn’t finish it.

Comment by Jenn

I’m reading everything published since 2006 in the field of American popular entertainment. And when I say “reading,” I mean “skimming really fast.”

And a bunch of cookbooks.

Comment by schluetermetz

[…] Filed under: Books, authors | Tags: Books One down…twenty-three to go! Remember my personal summer reading program in which I pledged to read two books a week? Yeah, that’s not happening, or at least not at […]

Pingback by Miss LGG’s Book of the Week: The Post-Birthday World « Miss Letting-Go-Getting




Leave a Reply

