Miss Letting-Go-Getting


Fail Big, Fail Often, Fail Well
June 10, 2008, 5:06 pm
Filed under: Life

After graduating from college, I took an amazing clowning class. Not Bozo, birthday party balloon-animal clowning but European, sadder more complicated character work. Most of the work involved learning to fail well in front of an audience, of being completely vulnerable and naked (not nekked naked) on stage. Failing well involved the full realization that everyone was watching, slowly taking in every single painful, embarassing and sad second of that realization and then trying again with even more gusto. “Taking the drop” we called it.

So…um…errr…alright…

Apparently I had not quite finished with my smoking.

Apparently I had a few more (packs) to smoke in order to fill my lifetime allotment.

Apparently I have zero willpower when it comes to certain things.

I’m totally taking the drop on this one. I feel you seeing my failure as you read this, and I am going to take it in and try again, and probably again and again.

Okay, had to get that out there–I want you to trust me faithful readers.

Now I can move on to more important bloggings…

XXXOOO

Miss LGG

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you only have to try one more time. you can do it. i know you can. Good Luck

Comment by Michael Francis

Oh, Jen… NOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. Not the coffin nails to the lips.

OK, I cannot relate, as I have never been a smoker. I hear they are the worst addiction.

Please quit again soon. It’s summer. Don’t you want to feel all fresh and outdoorsey? You KNOW you do.

Yours in hope, Susan

Comment by susanasherself

Thanks for your support! I’m a tryin’.

Comment by Jenn




Leave a Reply

