Miss Letting-Go-Getting


Gabe Levinson, let me be your side-kick! Ox-Bow, here I come!
August 16, 2008, 4:38 pm
Filed under: Books | Tags:

This is absolutely fantastic! Chicagoan cyclist and book lover, Gabe Levinson, solicits free books from publishers and other donors, then rides around Chicago parks giving them away. My kind of hero. Mr. Levinson, if you come across this while googling yourself, pick me as your side-kick. I’m a cool chick and there’s nothing I love more then spreading the joy of reading, and riding my bike. I would also dress up in any ridiculous costume you want. I have no shame when it comes to sharing the book love.

Read the Chicago Trib interview with Levinson and check out his Something to Read website which includes information about contributing to the cause. If you send in a postcard with your favorite literary quotes, he will put it on the book bike!

Tomorrow, I’m off to Ox-Bow, an artist’s retreat in beautiful Saugatuck, Michigan for a week-long class on the art of paper/book making!

Course Description for Book Structures: A book is an intimate object that can be alluring and surprising. A book structure brings together bookbinding techniques, ideas, and form. As we contemplate our ideas, we will investigate several bookbinding structures, how to use various tools, adhesives, and cloth, and will create unusual papers. Students will also learn how to paper back cloth and manipulate difficult paper, as well as several binding techniques, including pamphlet, Japanese stab, accordion, and coptic.

In an effort to get with nature, I am going to try my hardest to curb technology addictions. I do promise to blog all about it when I return!
XXXOOO

Miss LGG

PS. Thanks to Polly for knowing just how excited the book bike would make me!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i’m totally jealous of your book-binding week. sounds amazing! if only you could share your knowledge over the internets…

Comment by DOB's wife

It is SOOOO AMAZING! We’ve learned about 7-10 book making techniques already. Hopefully I can remember it all!

More soon…

Comment by Jenn




Leave a Reply

